About Us

Office Summary

Green County is comprised of 16 townships, 5 villages and 2 cities. The Sheriff's Office is responsible for patrolling the areas of the county that do not provide their own enforcement. This includes the towns/village of:

  • Adams
  • Albany
  • Brooklyn
  • Browntown
  • Cadiz
  • Clarno
  • Decatur
  • Exeter
  • Jefferson
  • Jordan
  • Monroe
  • Mt. Pleasant
  • New Glarus
  • Spring Grove
  • Sylvester
  • Washington
  • York

In addition, the Sheriff's Office provides protection to the villages of Albany, Brooklyn, Monticello and New Glarus when the officers from these agencies are off duty.


The Sheriff's Office/jail facility houses the 911 County Communication Center, a 70-bed jail and other department-related offices.